Consulate General of the RS Klagenfurt /Regional and cross-border cooperation  /

Regional and cross-border cooperation

Slovenia and Austria successfully cooperate within varoius regional fora: Quadrilaterale, Central European Initiative, the newly created EU macroregional strategies for Danube and Alps area. 

Slovenia as a whole cooperates with the Austrian provinces of Carinthia, Burgenland, Styria and Upper Austria within the Alps-Adriatic Alliance (its permanent secretariat is located in Klagenfurt) where it is represented by the Community of Slovenian Municipalities. 

Slovenia and Austria cooperate within the new Operational Programme Slovenia-Austria 2014-2020, which is particularly aimed at cross-border cooperation between the neighbouring countries. The European Regional Development Fund, together with national public resources, allocated EUR 47 million to co-finance cross-border projects in this programme period. Priorities include (1) competitiveness, knowledge and economic cooperation; (2) sustainable and balanced development; and (3) technical assistance.

There is also good cross-border cooperation at municipal level. In this context, the most known is the Geopark Karavanke (Geopark Karawanken) with 14 municipalities taking part, five on the Slovenian and nine on the Austrian side. Its objectives are ambitious and include different areas (economy, tourism, culture, education, transport etc.).